A weekend in the Kentish countryside

I took a trip home to Canterbury this weekend for a friend’s BBQ. My parents’ farmhouse is particularly beautiful at this time of year, and whilst the weather wasn’t great, the clouds were particularly striking which made for some good photographs! I know we all feel more relaxed when we go home, but it is particularly lovely to return to the country farmhouse I grew up in, especially when it starts with a full English breakfast looking out over the Kentish fields.

DSC_0452

DSC_0530

Who wouldn’t be a country bumpkin having grown up here, right? No matter what is happening in my life, and no matter how much I took it for granted before I left home, I know I’m safe and can escape here.
One of the most important things of course is seeing the gorgeous rag doll cats, Poppy and Cookie, who are getting a little bit old now but are as fluffy and soppy as ever.

DSC_0443 DSC_0422

We ventured to Chilham with my parents, and whilst I have been there before I couldn’t remember it at all, and therefore saw it with a new found appreciation! All the more so as my love of such villages has grown 100 fold in the last few years.

Chilham castle
Chilham castle

DSC_0404

On Sunday I decided to take Nathan for a stroll through the Kentish countryside (he’s a Northern boy so doesn’t know it very well!). We parked up in Bridge, a beautiful little village where I went to primary school, and walked through the fields to Patrixbourne and through the village to get to Chalkpit Farm in Bekesbourne.

DSC_0468

Chalkpit farm is a lovely complex with a coffee shop, ‘Essentially Hops‘ and a farm foods and baking shop. Walking into essentially hops you’re hit with the earthy scent of dried flowers surrounding you, along with various bits and bobs including candles, crafts, and general pretty home decor. I bought a little hedgehog made with dried flowers and a lavender candle, both at a very reasonable price for the love that clearly goes into making them! We then popped ourselves down outside the coffee shop and enjoyed a huge slice of homemade bakewell tart and a foamy cappuccino, bliss.

DSC_0535

DSC_0473

The walk home was met with more stunning scenery, including classic kentish oast houses, sunflowers and flowers releasing fluff into the gentle breeze – and we got back to the car feeling very pleased with ourselves after such an enjoyable jaunt! Oh Kent, I do miss you.

 

DSC_0482 DSC_0484

DSC_0508 DSC_0529

2 thoughts on “A weekend in the Kentish countryside

Leave a Reply

